Difference makers — Missouri lawmakers honored for their service in Jefferson City

The Missouri business community is fortunate to have a strong coalition of business leaders working alongside the Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry to help grow our economy and create jobs.

The Missouri Chamber honored the state’s leading lawmakers during the chamber’s Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet held on Nov. 20 in St. Louis.

Click the links below to learn more about this year’s legislative award winners.

Man in the Arena — New speaker Rep. John Diehl will keep his focus on attracting quality jobs

DiehlMissouri’s next House speaker is a man who already has a strong voice for growing jobs and expanding our state’s economy. Rep. John Diehl, a Republican from Town and Country, has served in the House since 2008. Although he’s had a hand in several pro-jobs measures during that time, he is especially proud of the income tax passed during the 2014 session. Read more.

Spirit of Enterprise — Making business a priority in Jefferson City

brownThe Spirit of Enterprise Award was established in 1990 to recognize legislators who have consistently shown efforts to protect the free enterprise system in Missouri.  Our four 2014 Spirit of Enterprise Award winners join a prestigious list of Missouri lawmakers whose legislative efforts have helped make Missouri a better place to work and live. Read more.

Emerging leaders — Sen. Romine and Rep. Miller are the legislative Freshmen of the Year

RomineGetting to know their way around the state capitol and the bill-passing process is how many freshmen lawmakers spend their first term in office.  Our two Freshmen of the Year Award Winners proved to be quick learners, not only learning the system, but stepping up to successfully pass important pro-jobs legislation in their first terms. Read more.

Celebrating our 100 percent club for 2014

During each legislative session, the Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry closely tracks votes to determine which lawmakers are the state’s strongest supporters of pro-jobs legislation.

This year, eighteen lawmakers earned perfect scores for their flawless support of economic growth and quality jobs for Missourians. These lawmakers were honored during the Missouri Chamber’s Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet on Nov. 20.

Lawmakers who earned a 100 percent rating in 2014 include: Rep. Mike Bernskoetter, Rep. Charlie Davis, Sen. Tom Dempsey, Rep. Denny Hoskins, Rep. Jay Houghton, Sen. Mike Kehoe, Rep. Mike Lair, Rep. Bill Lant, Rep. Steve Lynch, Sen. Brian Munzlinger, Sen. David Pearce, Rep. Don Phillips, Sen. Ron Richard, Sen. Gary Romine, Rep. Noel Shull, Rep. Kathy Swan, Rep. Nate Walker, Sen. Wayne Wallingord. Watch them receive their awards.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s